A few things…

Well its time to resurrect this blog.

Bam. Its been two months since I last wrote a word on this thing. A lot has happened and a lot has not.

For the better part of the last two months I’ve been working at William & Mary in Williamsburg, VA for iD Tech Camps. ID Tech runs its camps all over the U.S. at different colleges and universities like Stanford University, UCLA, Columbia, MIT, Carnegie Mellon, Brown University, etc… These camps are technology camps which means we aren’t counselors so much as we are instructors. At most locations we teach game design, web design, Flash, programming, robotics, digital video editing and bunch more. I taught digital video editing and 3D game design.

Working with kids is a trip. That is the most succinct way I can put it. Working with kids making movies and video games is absolutely ridiculous. Kids are nuts, they have imaginations that run wild, they can’t sit still, they love getting into trouble, they love to talk and overall they pretty much just amaze me. Its funny how you can sometimes catch glimpses of how they will grow up to be.  I usually have to control about 8-12 of them a week in my classes and at the dorms. Octomom doesn’t really have anything on me.

6040_697727157099_7800539_41383612_6867831_n

These kids usually come from interesting backgrounds. The camps start at about $1200 bucks a week, so most of the kids are pretty well off. At the end of each week we have a “Family Showcase” where we show all the kids have done and meet parents. This year I had some kids with interesting parents in my classes, I’ve meet the Editor-in-Chief of Time Magazine, Woody Allen’s film editor, and a bunch of pro golfers. It is much more interesting work than Kohls. Sadly summer is over which means my job is over. So I’m back on the job hunt, refreshed and ready to roll.

My adventure for the summer was working for iD Tech at Columbia University in downtown Manhattan, NYC. I lived in the Bronx at a different college and commuted every morning to Manhattan via public transportation. Living smack in the middle of the Bronx and having all my nights off that week to run loose in NYC certainly gave me a few stories… but that will have to wait until the next blog post. So tune in.

Thats all for today I guess. I might throw a few other summer stories on here once I get back in the groove of blogging.

P.S. THE FIRST NFL PRESEASON WEEKEND STARTS TOMORROW!!! Check out the schedule and get pumped!!! STEELER NATION!!! One last sentence with three exclamation marks!!!

~ by detwilzl on August 12, 2009.

Leave a comment