Music and Sight

I do not enjoy anything as much as I enjoy the combination of music and sight. It amazes me how the combination of these things far surpass merely the sum of their parts. It is something magical that surpasses any drug, any thrill, or any experience I know. I think music is a gift from God. When I think of heaven, I think of a place where music will never cease and my eyes will never close. Music can convey emotion like no other thing I have found, and more so it can convey such a complex array of emotions or feelings simultaneously like nothing else. Combine music with some form of visual stimuli and you have something indescribable.

People hound me all the time about how I rant about the quality of sound, the quality of a visual, or the quality of a taste. For me life is about experiences; I want to have as many of them as possible and I want them to be as memorable as possible. The more a serene a sight is, the more clear a sound is, the more distinguished a taste is, the more memorable it is to me. This is the reason I rant, this is the reason I seek out quality.

Film is nothing to me without music. Music can stand alone, but never fully reaches its potential without a visual.

I am going to list two songs for you in the “Film of the Week” section of my page, I want you to stick them on your ipod and when you are in the most scenic place you know, pop them on. I’ve been enjoying the beach and sun all week here in Emerald Isle, NC – but of all the fun I had, I did not enjoy anything as much as listening to these songs and simply watching the waves roll in and the people play in surf.

I have in recent years really started to enjoy opera. I can’t understand what anyone is saying, but I understand what they are feeling. In the same way while in college my ears were opened to classical music. I learned from both of these genres that music is truly a universal language and that it is indeed the most beautiful language in existence.

Well it is dinner time and my family is hollering my name. I guess thats all for today. Goodbye.

~ by detwilzl on May 29, 2009.

Leave a comment