I’m almost 23… crap!

My birthday is coming up soon. Crap. Every birthday when I turn whatever I turn, I remember thinking how old this next age is that I have taken on and how young the age I was called just the day before really was. It’s really kind of stupid because it’s all just in my head. Being 23 is not that bad, I’ll still be in my early 20’s – in the big picture I still have a lot of time on my side and a lot of life left to live. It is going by fast though, scary fast. But I am loving to death every God given second of it and plan to continue to do so.

Reflecting on some of my past birthdays, there are 3 that stick out.

  • I turn 10, and I get a trampoline. Sweet. Games are made up involving people running around the trampoline pegging  those who are jumping on it in the face with random objects and athletic equipment who are trying to dodge these attacks, once a person gets knocked off or somehow else incapacitated by an object, the one who K.O.’d them gets to bounce. Later, I bounce up and down while listening to 90’s music on my sony discman. Can life get better?

  • Yes it can. I turn 18, and on that day fulfill a lifetime goal – skydiving. The first day I legally could, I did and holy crap was it worth the wait. You are 12,000 feet up in the air, the plane door opens – you’ve got adrenaline pumping through you like you didn’t know was possible – you walk to the edge of door, look down, look out, grab a hold of your pack and push off. One of the best feelings I’ve ever felt. You are falling straight down at about 124 mph, but it feels like your flying. It seems like forever,  and then whooooamp, you shoot deploys and now you get to have even more fun steering a parachute to ground below.

  • I turn 19 and I am in college living the dream. Oddly enough that night I was awoken late by group of women and went around chasing clues with Mr. Matt Henderson and Mr. Mike White (Maurice) on foot, in cars, on scooters and bikes, all in horridly freezing weather till the sun rose at 6:00am.

My number one birthday request to my parents has been skydiving since that day, my 18th birthday. I’ve tried again this year and it’s a big fail. Once I get a career job I know exactly what I will be doing to celebrate, hopefully I can get some Testosterhome people to do it with me.

Well, I have more to write but it is late and I have to get up early and be a judge at the NC Speech and Debate tournament in Wake Forest. It should be fun, plus it’s catered and all free to judges.

Look for a new post soon with poll results and a new movie to watch. In the meantime download the current film and participate in the poll if you haven’t already. Peace.

~ by detwilzl on April 7, 2009.

One Response to “I’m almost 23… crap!”

  1. hahaa the trampoline game… that was great. and dont worry 23 isnt too bad, not much different that 22, but ya there are def days im like “crap i’m 23…. crap” xp and let me know if u end up goin skydiving ill def go with ya

Leave a comment